Travel News

India revises entry requirements for international travellers

Government of India has issued revised guidelines for travellers coming from an international destination.

The Union Health Ministry of India, in a statement, has said that all travellers coming into India from an international destination will have to mandatorily isolate themselves at home for a week. The 7-day home quarantine will be followed by an RT-PCR test on the eighth day. The guidelines came into effect on 11th January 2022 and will remain effective until further government orders.

Travellers coming from countries specified as “At Risk” will have to undergo a COVID-19 test on arrival and then will be required to wait for the results at the airport before leaving or taking a connecting flight. Those who test positive will be sent to an isolation facility. If the result comes out negative, then they will need to undergo home quarantine for seven days and then get the RT-PCR test done on the 8th day. If that test also comes out to be negative, they will have to further self-monitor their health for the next 7 days. Additionally, they must upload the results of the RT-PCR test conducted on the 8th day on the Air Suvidha portal.

Children under 5 are exempted from both pre-and post-arrival testing. However, if found symptomatic for COVID-19 on arrival or during the home quarantine period, they will need to undergo testing and be treated according to the laid down protocol.

In addition to these rules, all travellers will have to upload a negative RT-PCR report of the test conducted within 72 hours of the beginning of the journey prior to undertaking the journey.

Stay up to date: Sign up for my newsletter to never miss latest Aviation and Travel news.

Each passenger shall also submit a declaration with respect to the authenticity of the report and will be liable for a criminal prosecution, if found otherwise, according to the guidelines.

The following countries are considered as “At Risk”:

  • South Africa
  • Brazil
  • Botswana
  • China
  • Ghana
  • Mauritius
  • New Zealand
  • Zimbabwe
  • Tanzania
  • Hong Kong
  • Israel
  • Congo
  • Ethiopia
  • Kazakhstan
  • Kenya
  • Nigeria
  • Tunisia
  • Zambia
  • All countries in Europe including the United Kingdom

Follow IH Aviation and Travel on Social Media on Instagram, Twitter and YouTube.

Leave a Reply