Travel News

Philippines expands travel ban to 19 more countries

Philippines has expanded the travel ban to 19 more countries after the country imposed a travel ban on United Kingdom amid concerns of a newly detected and fast-spreading COVID-19 variant.

This decision comes after Philippines extended the travel ban on UK by two weeks. The 20 countries on which the travel ban has been imposed including the United Kingdom are:

  1. United Kingdom
  2. Switzerland
  3. France
  4. Germany
  5. Italy
  6. Iceland
  7. The Netherlands
  8. Ireland
  9. Spain
  10. Sweden
  11. Denmark
  12. Israel
  13. Lebanon
  14. Canada
  15. South Africa
  16. South Korea
  17. Singapore
  18. Hong Kong, SAR
  19. Australia
  20. Japan

This decision is in effect from 30th December,2020 and will continue until 15th January,2021.

However, Filipino citizens will still be able to return to the country. They are required to undergo 14-day quarantine upon arrival regardless of COVID-19 test result.

A notable exemption from the travel ban is United States. Regarding this, Harry Roque, President Spokesperson said:

“We are closely monitoring the situation in the United States regarding the new Covid-19 strain in Colorado. Concerned local officials are now studying this matter.”

“As to whether the president may impose restrictions to travellers coming from the United States in light of this new development, the guidance of the chief executive is clear. This shall be upon the joint recommendation of the Department of Health and the Department of Foreign Affairs.”, he added.

Leave a Reply